Navratnas/ Navaratnas - The sacred Nine Gemstones as per Vedic texts and Indian Astrology

Although many kinds of Gemstones have been used by mankind for their healing and magical properties among all Gemstones the Zenith is held by the Navaratnas.

The Navaratnas/Navratnas are the sacred nine gemstones as per Vedic texts and Indian Astrology that have a profound impact on human life. These Navratnas are linked to the nine planets also referred to as the Navagrahas and are recommended after the detailed study of the Kundali/ Indian Horoscope.

Recommendation of correct gemstones by Vedic Astrology is an ancient art practiced and revered since eons and bring about magical changes in individual lives.

The Navaratnas/Navratnas/Nine Gems as per Vedic Texts and Hindu Astrology

List of the Navaratnas as per Hindu Astrology/ Navratnas as per Vedic Astrology

  1. Ruby
  2. Natural Pearl
  3. Red Coral
  4. Emerald
  5. Yellow Sapphire
  6. Diamond
  7. Blue Sapphire
  8. Hessonite
  9. Cat's Eye Chrysoberyl

Navaratnas/Navratna/Nine Gems- a Basic Introduction and their planetary powers.

Ancient Vedic scriptures and teachings have mentioned RATNAS or gems as one of the 6 pathways to alter the negative karmic life map and remove obstacles and emerge in life with the feeling of happiness and fulfilment.

The Vedic gems are also believed to of a therapeutic value. The Garuda Purana and Agni Purana have discussed the Science of Gemology and characteristics of Gemstones that bring about auspicious changes in life.

The Brihat Samhita has also discussed the healing properties of the various gems. And in many ancient cultures too gemstones have always been believed to have metaphysical powers.

Every sign of the zodiac is ruled by a planet and every planet has an associated gemstone, which in turn has the powers to harness the power of the cosmic rays associated with that particular planet and elevate a individual’s emotional, mental and materials status. Even the days of the week are associated with planets.

The gems are also allocated with metals to be set in to give the best results of the planets. Even the fingers in which to wear a gem have been stated!

The Navaratnas – A Pictorial representation:


Sun is said to be the king of planets and the soul of the Zodiac, and rules the sign of Leo. The gem of Sun is Natural Ruby and the metal is Gold. The day associated with Sun is Sunday. The ruby is also called as Padamarag and Manikya.


Moon is the planet that rules the mind and the psyche. The Moon also rules emotions. Moon rules the sign of Cancer. The gem of Moon is a Natural Pearl and the metal is Silver. The day associated with the Moon is Monday. It is also called as Muktha.


Mars considered as the strength of the Zodiac and rules the courage and initiative in an individual. Mars rules the signs of Aries and Scorpio in the horoscope. The gem of Mars is a Red Coral and the metal is Silver or Gold and the day is Tuesday. It is also called a Praval or Moonga.


Mercury is the intellect, communication and humour of the Zodiac and rules the speech in an individual. Mercury rules the signs of Gemini and Virgo in the horoscope. The gem is Natural Emerald and the metal is Silver or Gold and the day is Wednesday. It is also called as Markat and Panna.


Jupiter is concerned with all knowledge. Jupiter rules the signs of Sagittarius and Pisces of the zodiac. The gem is Natural Yellow Sapphire and the metal is Gold. The day of Jupiter is Thursday. It is also known as Pushyarag and Pukhraj.


Venus is the planet of beauty and luxury. Venus rules the signs of Taurus and Libra of the Zodiac. The gem of Venus is the Natural Diamond and the metal is Gold. The day of Venus is Friday. It is also known as Vajra and Heera.


Saturn is known as the Karmic planet. The signs of Capricorn and Aquarius are ruled by this Karmic planet. The gem of Saturn is the Natural Blue Sapphire and the metal is Silver and sometimes gold. The day of Saturn is Saturday. It is also called as Neelam.

Rahu and Ketu are not actual planets but the nodes of the Moon. Rahu is the North node and Ketu is the South node. Hence they are not allotted any signs of the Zodiac. But Vedic scriptures have stated that “SHANI VAT RAHU, KUJ VAT KETU”, meaning that Ketu is like Mars and Rahu is like Saturn.


Rahu is considered a Karmic planet, is the north node and is represented by the upper half of the Snake. The gem of Rahu is Natural Hessonite and the metal is Silver. The day of Rahu is Saturday. It is also called as Gomedh.


Ketu is also considered to have Karmic influences and is the South node and is represented by the lower half of the snake. The gem of Ketu is Natural Cat’s Eye and the metal is Silver. The day of Ketu is Tuesday. It is also called as Vaidurya/Lehsunia.

The Navagraha Mandala and the sacred arrangement of the Nine Gems/ Navratnas

In today's commerce driven world there is a blatant abuse of this powerful science. Jewelers are randomly selling Navaratna Ring, Navaratna Bracelets, Navaratna Bangles without following the proper system of arrangement of the sacred Gems and using generally flawed discarded waste from precious gemstones which are treated and enhanced.

The Navaratnas as a single talisman (all nine gems as per sacred arrangement) in a pendant, bangle, bracelet, ring is one of the most potent, powerful talisman capable of bringing many positive changes.

Arrangement of the Nine Planets/ Navagrahas as per the Navagraha Mandala!

The Navaratna Arrangement

Picture Credit: The Planetary Gemologists Association-Thailand

For the Navaratnas to be effective each Gem must be natural, free from treatment, and Jyotish Quality. To know more about Jyotish Quality Gems please click here.

Introduction to the Navaratnas, their metals and Planets in a Tabular form

PlanetSignsDay of the WeekMetalPrimary GemSeconday GemFinger
Sun Leo Sunday Gold Ruby Red Garnet Ring
Moon Cancer Monday Silver Natural Pearl Moonstone Ring/little
Mars Aries and Scorpio Tuesday Gold/Silver Red coral  Ring
Mercury Gemini and Virgo Wednesday Gold/Silver Natural Emerald Peridot Little
Jupiter Sagittarius and Pisces Thursday Gold Natural Yellow Sapphire Heliodor, Golden Topaz Index
Venus Taurus and Libra Friday Gold Natural Diamond White Sapphire, White Topaz Ring
Saturn Aquarius and Capricorn Saturday Silver/Gold Natural Blue Sapphire Iolite, Amethyst Middle
Rahu  Saturday Silver Hessonite Garnet Middle
Ketu   Tuesday Silver Cat's eye   Middle

©1999-2011,, All rights reserved.